Getting the Writing Done

I’ll be honest. I’m originally from the East Coast, so normally I don’t say things like, “Git ‘er done.” But when it comes to putting words on paper, especially at this time of the year, I’m not sure there’s any other way to say it.

Somehow, you just have to get it done. The question is how?

The answer really depends on you. It’s so individual. Margaret talks below about getting up at 4 AM. I admire that. I can’t function at that time, but I admire it. Unfortunately for me, I will never write effectively at that hour. I do my best in spurts during the day, and especially at night before bed. I think this is partly because I’m more of a night person and partly because at the end of the day, there’s nothing else to concentrate on besides writing.

I suspect that’s why some writers can and do write first thing in the morning, when there is nothing to distract them. Either time of day is fine, as long as it works to “git ‘er done.”

I also have friends who cannot write in a noisy environment. A coffee shop does them in. They can’t concentrate. I don’t quite have that problem. A little background noise helps me, as long as it isn’t too loud or overwhelming. Ambulance sirens in the background, that’s no good. Lots of drama, nope. Shouting, no. Quiet conversation, that’s okay. Instrumental music, no problem. Classic rock, though… yeah, that distracts me because I start to sing along.

But mainly, the key for me seems to be not being afraid to write an imperfect first draft. Lots of times, my fingers hesitate over the keyboard. What if? I ask myself. What if I write something that’s no good. What if the scene doesn’t work? What if I’m not sure what to write? Then I have to remind myself, it is perfectly okay to edit later. In fact, I’m going to have to do that anyway. So why worry?

Facing fear as a writer… That’s a requirement of the job. But that’s how you get the writing done.

One thought on “Getting the Writing Done

  1. I like the noise level of a coffee shop. Just enough that I have to put some effort into concentrating. It puts me in the zone. I can’t have music on, it distracts me.

    And as far as Margaret and her 4 am writing… good for her! If I’m awake at 4 am it’s cause I haven’t gone to bed yet!

Leave a Reply

