What I’ve learned so far from NaNoWriMo, part II

As I said in my first post on this subject, this is my first time to try participating in National Novel Writer’s Month (NaNoWriMo).

In my first 10 days, I found it very positive and was enjoying the experience.

Now, nearly 2/3 of the way through, I’m finding it more of a slog. I’m finding it more difficult to meet my goal of 2000 words per day, though my average is staying well above that thanks to some early enthusiasm.

In the past, I wrote when I felt inspired to write which meant that I almost always felt good about what I wrote. This month, where I’m sitting down to write whether I feel like it or not, I find I’m not always happy with the writing I’ve produced, but, then, I think that’s to be expected. The real test will come after this month is over and I go in to do revisions. Can I take that less-than-inspired writing and fix it?

To summarize, I have always enjoyed writing because I’ve always gotten an emotional charge from writing something I felt passionate about. That emotional payoff isn’t always there when I’m writing because that’s what I’m supposed to be doing. On the other hand, there is another kind of payoff – the emotional charge you get from meeting a goal!

One thought on “What I’ve learned so far from NaNoWriMo, part II

  1. I know what you mean. Some days, I’m on fire. Others, I feel like I’m slogging through scenes. At times, I cheat on those days and work on a new project or skip around to write a different scene that’s more exciting than the one I’m working on.

Leave a Reply

