Crying over Chicken Pot Pie

ImageToday my Mother made chicken pot pie for my family for dinner.  I cried for close to an hour.  I cried in my car, on the way home from work, driving up and down streets, until I could get myself together and enter the house. 

I really hate chicken pot pie.  But I don’t usually cry over it.  No, today was special.  Special in the “it just can’t get any worse than this” kind of way…that is, of course, until I found out about the chicken pot pie.  

You know, life is tough.  But I probably don’t have to tell you that, I’m sure you already know.  It’s tough for each of us in different ways.  Is my life tougher than yours, maybe and maybe not?  We are all individuals after all.  

Lately, I’ve been feeling pretty sorry for myself.  For lots of reasons.  Let me fill you in(I’m sure you have been dying to know!)  

My writing isn’t going well.  Not well at all.  I sent out a short story this week riddled – riddled with errors!  But okay, I can handle that, right?  I’m mature, right?  Really?  So then I try to find time to fix it.  No time is found.  I have always been a “giver.”  Someone who prides herself on being on time, dependable, helpful, blah, blah, blah.  But it’s tough to be like this and then want everyone to leave you alone.  Trust me, my telling everyone to bugger off for a few hours never goes well.  Which it didn’t this week.  Oh and my project at work…well, let’s put it this way…after days of working on my project, proofing it, revising it and sending it to the print shop for that cool spiral notebook look, my name didn’t get put on it.  Anywhere.  Nope.   When I asked my boss about it all I got was the usual – you did a really great job, but it was my work assigned for you to do, so….Good Job!

Last but not least, I have a birthday coming up.  Groan!!!!  If you give me a present or buy me a drink, I love my birthday!  But if you ask me how old I am or what I feel I have accomplished so far in my life….well, get ready for tears.  

Roll all of this up in a ball, add hunger pains from a new diet and newly found evidence of gray hair and one more thing….chicken pot pie!!!!  Any wonder I drove around for an hour weeping uncontrollably??

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

