Do you believe in Writer’s Block?

Do you believe in writer’s block?
Do you believe it’s true?
Do you believe in writer’s block?
Oh, you’re makin’ me believe it too, yeah.

-song currently stuck in my head.

hands-in-chains

 

I haven’t been writing much lately. There’s some good and legitimate reasons for that. My novel is in a beta-read group where we trade off reading each other’s novels in full each week, for instance, so there’s not really a point in revising it until I get all that feedback.

However, when I do sit down to write, not much is happened. My normal pace is a page or two, then a break, then another page, and a break. This is more like a sentence, then a break, two sentences, then a break. Instead of my goal of 1500 words a day, I’m getting in about a tenth of that. I’ve got three unfinished blog posts sitting around watching me with disappoinment because I just can’t finish em.

When I mentioned it to a friend, he said, “Oh, you’ve got writer’s block?”

And I said, “No.”

 

Saying “I’ve got Writer’s Block” feels terribly self-indulgent to me, like I am a victim of forces out of my control.

It’s not a disease. I haven’t contracted some strange cluster of symptoms. There is no typewriter-black ribbon to raise awareness of WBS (Writer’s Block Syndrome). No twitter campaign, “With your help, we can cure #WBS!”

It’s not imprisonment. There’s no shackles on my wrists keeping me from my keyboard. “With your help, we can break the chains of #writersblock!”

I’ve just lost the way to get my ideas to travel through my fingers into the screen. There’s no cure, there’s no breaking free. There’s just finding my own way back.

 

So, do you believe in writer’s block? Let me know in the comments. Add in how you find your way back!

 

7 thoughts on “Do you believe in Writer’s Block?

  1. Well writers block is just like an excuse for not writing. Things don’t happen in life, we have to make them happen. Same is the case with writing. For every writer it is necessary to write continuously even if doesn’t makes sense in the first place. It is just that one moment or one day when you didn’t feel comfortable enough or your mind was preoccupied with some other things that you never could get the time to write something down. I have been trying to write since last 4 years. I always fail to build my writing momentum. Currently, I just got back with my flow of writing. And everyday I write about like 500 words or more. I have set a deadline for my own self. No matter what happens I have to write. And seriously, out of nowhere I feel so much better than before. And you might ask me why? Because that Blank page syndrome or the writer’s block has disappeared. As soon as I open the word application, I start writing as thoughts keep coming.

    Speaking of blank page syndrome, its very frustrating for a writer to become totally blank looking at that white space on the computer screen. And the only way we can overcome the writer’s block syndrome or the blank page syndrome is by our daily writing practice.

    What I personally believe is that we always get stuck in between the thought of either our writing is making any sense or not. On the contrary, we should just write and keep writing to our maximum capability. So you should never stop writing for a day.

    I’m also trying very hard to be a good writer like many others. And we are highly fortunate to have this blogging thingee which really has made so many people great writers. The online blogging has improved the writing prowess of several people and has given them a platform to voice their thoughts through words.

    I just started my new blog http://technologydrome.wordpress.com. it’s basically based on technology whereas emphasis is given to smartphones due to their popularity.

  2. I believe writers block is the feeling you get when you don’t have that spark of inspiration. When you have a clear vision of what you want on the page, there is nothing that can keep you from putting it into words. When you don’t feel that spark of inspiration… you’ve got “the block”.

  3. Hmm a tough one. I think when I get to the point where I have to walk away and stop myself from hitting something, or cry when I think about having to sit at the computer, I’m suffering something. Probably just suffering the effects of writing being tough. I’ve always been told to write through that feeling, even if you will delete most of it. There will be a nugget somewhere, and it might take you somewhere unexpected. I’ve never been able to do it. I hate going down a path I’m not happy with. I’m hoping blogging helps. It’s an outlet I guess, and makes me feel as though I’m doing something !.

    • I think it’s hard to write through it because you know how good it feels to write when everything’s working and when it’s not… it’s just frustrating.

  4. Yes I guess it just the mind which gets stuck somewhere like a cul-de-sac. And its common to every writer. Your willingness and passion will always let you overcome writer’s block. Once you feel or face it. It’s time to get distracted or involve in other activities which can refresh the mind. And you can always come back to give it a fresh start to your writing.

Leave a Reply

