Writing Challenge -Poem. Taking the gloves off.

It has been a good while since I wrote a poem, but I do like to write them.

I like to write them because they are difficult to write! All you poets out there and I know a few of you read this blog, just wanted to say, hat’s off to you because I know how tough it is.

My father taught English for years and he always loved poetry. He used to say to me, “Poetry isn’t just about using words, it’s about using the right words.” Now maybe he was quoting someone else, but I’m giving him credit for that one.

When I thought about this I actually had a lot of topics to choose from…so I’m taking the gloves off, wrestling with my intellect and language skills – and facing down this challenge!!!

Ode to a Magic Eraser

Once upon a time I read a book about witchcraft.
Not a dusty, tome hidden away in an attic,
But candy colored, glossy, crisp pages.
Images of crooked noses replaced by smiling cheerful pagans on the back cover.

Furtively I read standing, half crouching inside a forest of shelves.

“The best way to rid evil sprits is to clean your house from top to bottom.”

Clean! How disappointing! How utterly mundane!

Days pass and the name of the book and where I hid to read it, fade.

I’m older now.
Worn down, but sturdy.

The Magic Eraser and I embark on the purge once again.

This is how the evil is destroyed.

All of it sanded off the walls and door frames.

Handprints on walls vanish away, taking with them angry, childish words.
Smudges on floors disappear and their leaving rids me of memories of slamming doors and yelling.
It takes some doing, but the stains on the stove are bested also, which brings me such peace.
No more will I have to face the evidence of the betrayal announced over spaghetti again.

The name of this product could not be more perfect.

Okay, there it is!

18 lines instead of 20–but it needed to end there.

That’s the funny thing about poetry to me–it seems to control me much more than I control it!

One thought on “Writing Challenge -Poem. Taking the gloves off.

  1. “No more will I have to face the evidence of the betrayal announced over spaghetti again. ”

    Who would have thought a poem about house cleaning could be so… laden with emotion and truth.

    Very nice job.

Leave a Reply

