12 Days of Writing – M.A.’s Day 5 Poem…Her Sad, Sad Poem

OK, I confess… I did not spend a lot of labor on this poem. There’s a reason I don’t write poetry, and this will probably prove why. Metaphors and imagery and sound, I like. Rhythm, feet, iambs…ugh. That said, here are 20 lines on a memorable event in my life.

A Proof

I drove into Tulsa with my left
foot in a cast from a broken
ankle that I got while climbing
an obstacle in an obstacle course
that God did not intend me to
climb because He did not make
this girl athletic.

Sitting on my rear with time to
think, however…

I made the decision to move
across this great wide country
to settle in a Midwest place that
doesn’t know what to do with
a small, perky Italian girl who
doesn’t own cowboy boots and
wants her milk from cartons, not cows.

Somehow I settled here, stayed alive,
and even moved beyond survival.

This is a miracle worthy
of Proof of the Existence of God.

One thought on “12 Days of Writing – M.A.’s Day 5 Poem…Her Sad, Sad Poem

Leave a Reply

