The Lost Magic of Halloween

It’s been a while since I’ve celebrated Halloween, but even going to a party these days is simply not the same as trick or treating when I was a kid.

I think it’s the loss of the magic.

When I was a kid, half of the fun of Halloween…or any holiday, really…was the excited buildup to what might happen. The anticipation was priceless. Endless days of dreaming about what costume to wear and the excited desire to wear that costume right now. If only Halloween were here!

It was the same with Christmas. The same with Easter. Presents, chocolate bunnies, candy collected at the neighbor’s door…It was all a special magic.

Once we get older, that magic fades a bit from our lives. I suppose it’s the bills we need to pay, the full-time jobs that tire us out, the obligations we have to family…all the grown up things we dream about doing when we’re kids.

Ironic, right? When we were kids, we couldn’t wait to grow up. Now that we’re grown up, we wish sometimes to be kids again.

We miss the magic.

We miss the special spells that make the world wonderful, when adult reality reminds us it’s really nothing special. My childhood view of the world  made Halloween wonderful for me every single year, traipsing out with my plastic pumpkin, even though I now have the adult realization that it was horribly cold and damp out almost every October 31. I didn’t feel the cold as a kid. I feel it now. That’s lost magic.

IMG_0298It takes work to make the magic appear again in my adult life. It comes in small ways…like wearing a viking hat around the office and surprising all my coworkers, who don’t usually see me being that silly. And after the surprise, they all laughed and said I looked great.

That was a nice little bit of magic for a Friday, workaday Halloween in adulthood. I’ll take it.

But if I had to choose, I might just travel back in time and wear my Princess Leia costume again.

2 thoughts on “The Lost Magic of Halloween

  1. My favorite memory was my sister putting makeup on me when I was in 3rd grade. I was a fairy princess. Now, I use Halloween as an excuse to wear my Pirates of the Caribbean hat and Jennifer’s Phantom of the Opera cape.

Leave a Reply

