What We Expect from the Romance Novel…Right or Wrong?

In preparation for Valentine’s Day, here’s a classic Fifty Shades post of mine.

If you like this post, you’ll also want to check out a companion post on my Chipper Muse blog: https://chippermuse.wordpress.com/2014/07/28/characters-who-suffer-one-readers-confession-of-obsession/

And this other post on Purple Ink by me… https://purpleinkwriters.wordpress.com/2014/07/29/fifty-shades-of-fired-up-can-we-have-a-discussion-that-matters/

As you can see, I have plenty to say about Fifty Shades.

purple ink writers

Do you like your romance controversial or conventional? Maybe in the romance genre, controversial and conventional are not that far apart. Let me explain…

http://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/Category:Historical_handcuffs#mediaviewer/File:Old_bracelets_(aka).jpg Old bracelets. Original work by André Karwath aka Aka. Image licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Share Alike 2.5 Generic license.

I finally read Fifty Shades of Grey. I’m going out on a limb here to admit the truth: I kind of liked it. (I kind of hated it too, but I’ll get to that in a minute.)

First, a confession: I resisted reading this book for a long, long time. Like many people, I was put off by the idea that the protagonist was a young, naive girl being whisked into a dirty relationship with an older, domineering man. It just sounds sexist. Ugh.

Plus, I’d pulled the book off the shelves at Walmart to look at it, and the writing was clunky. Awkward. Badly…

View original post 1,016 more words

Leave a Reply

