There’s no such thing as Writer’s Block… she said determindly.

Calvin and HobbesBy Donna A Leahey

I sit down to write. I go play a flash game. I sit down to write. I go fix breakfast. I sit down to write, I need more coffee. I need to check Facebook. My email just dinged. The dog wants out. Mom needs my help. And, at the end of the day, I haven’t written anything.

I’ve been struggling (yes, again) getting anything written. This is, in part, because I’ve been busy on other types of writing and with assorted life stuff.

Last night, I had a long conversation with a friend about not being able to write. I don’t believe in Writer’s Block. I think it’s just an excuse. Which is not to say that sometimes we don’t have a hard time getting stuff written. But if we allow ourselves to say we have Writer’s Block, well, then it’s not our fault. We have a condition! It has a name! We are helpless before the fact of the Writer’s Block!

I don’t believe it is a condition. Just, sometimes, the mood isn’t there and you have to go find it.

I’ve got no surefire way to beat it. That’s why I’m writing a blog post!

But here’s what I do have: Don’t stop working. Work on some character sketches. Write out a synopsis. Write something else, turn your attention to another creative endeavor. Maybe write a blog post about how Writer’s Block doesn’t exist!

cow-writers-blockHere’s what I’m going to do:

  • I’m going to set timed goals – maybe 15 minutes at a time, where I’m not allowed to do anything but write. And if that means I stare blankly at the computer screen for fifteen minutes, so be it.
  • I’m going to spend time working on background. Finish up some emotional synopses for my major characters. Brainstorm some timeline issues.
  • Go back and revise – I have a rule that I don’t do that until the end. I prefer forward progress. But if nothing else, perhaps going back and fixing flaws in some earlier scenes will get me inspired to start moving forward again.

Anyone else have things they do to get themselves inspired to write again?

UPDATE: After I posted this, I wrote over 1000 words last night. F you, not-writers-block!

 

Leave a Reply

