The Power of Words

Unknown

Do you ever get songs stuck in your head?

Not only does that happen often to me, but more often than not I get so attached to a song I listen to it over and over again, trying in my own way to pull it apart and crawl inside of the lyrics.

I am, above anything else, a lover of words. I adore poetry and I marvel at those who can string together a few ordinary words thereby creating something profound. The two songs which hold my current obsession have done just that.

The first is “Losing My Religion,” by REM. It’s been around for a while and I always liked it, but when I heard it again recently I was stuck by the very first line. “Oh, life is bigger. It’s bigger than you and you are not me.” At first it seems to not only state the obvious, but it’s also kind of non-nonsensical. Yet, for me it opens up all kinds of images. Doesn’t it imply he is cutting someone down to size while at the same time telling whoever this person is he is an individual, someone worthy of a little respect? I love it! Don’t we all have those people in our lives who think the world must revolve around them and we end up feeling like the young man in the corner assigned to watch milk spill?

florence-the-machine-ship-to-wreck-960jpg

“Ship to Wreck,” by Florence and the Machine is my other current obsession. If you haven’t discovered them yet, I would strongly advise a quick trip over to You Tube. Their videos are just cool and no, I don’t know what’s going on in them either, but each image to me is a real work of art.

My lyric in this one is, “Oh, my love remind me, what was it that I said? Did I drink too much, am I losing touch? Did I build a ship to wreck?” Ohhhh, I’ve been there, Florence. Haven’t we all? A ship to wreck. Just think about that a moment…building a ship, a large, beautiful ship with the intent to wreck it. You must know what I mean. The relationship or job or whatever, you invest time and effort into while all the time you know(and you do know it, even if you don’t want to admit it to yourself) you know it is not going to work out. How many ships have I built to wreck? How many have you? And we continue to do it.

A not so wonderful part of our human nature, I guess.

Leave a Reply

