Goal Post

2548541099_f516506179_o(It’s a pun!)

Meg recently wrote that she doesn’t make resolutions, but she names the year. I also don’t make resolutions, but I do like to give myself a few goals (I am totally aware that it’s a semantics quibble, but there you have it.)

So this post is just me setting a goal and then posting it as a way to be more accountable.

I will read for pleasure more in 2016.

I’ve always been an avid reader. I was never without a book. However, in the last few years, my habits have changed. I read – I critique other writer’s work, I read lots of articles on the internet, but as far as curling up with a book and just losing myself in it… I’ve almost completely lost the habit.

Stephen King says, “If you don’t have time to read, you don’t have the time (or the tools) to write. Simple as that.” 

For me, it’s not so much not having time, but that the time I used to spend reading, I now spend on the internet.

So, I have a goal to read for pleasure every day.

Now, what will I read?

I considered rereading everything Stephen King wrote, but, to be honest, some of his stuff is not as good as others, and the stuff of his I like, I’ve read so much I practically have memorized.

So, instead, I’m going to follow Stephen King’s List of Recommended Books for Writers.

I’ll skip books that I’ve read recently enough to clearly remember them (Like the Harry Potter books).

There’s 96 books on that list. At a rate of one book for week, that’s a nearly two year goal.

I’m working on other goals, so there may be more Goal Posts in the next week or so. For my own accountability.

Happy New Year, y’all!

2 thoughts on “Goal Post

Leave a Reply

