Star Wars – Thanks for the memories!

images.png

When I saw the original I was nine years old and I didn’t know what it was about.  My brother and my cousins wanted to go and being the youngest and the only girl, it was easier to send me with them then keep me at home, so my parents didn’t even ask me if I wanted to go.  I was handed a ticket and given five dollars for candy and told to stay with the boys.

And I was enchanted by the whole thing!  I loved everything about Star Wars.  The characters, the special effects, the good vs evil, the droids…it was completely engaging. 

But I was nine!

Now I am forty- eight and Star Wars is old news.  It’s nothing special. I have more important things to do than go see what is essentially a children’s movie.

Now I am the parent and this time my youngest wanted to go and wanted me to go with him.  He had never seen Star Wars on the big screen and wasn’t really a fan of the franchise, but it was over Christmas break, so I bought us tickets, pulled out twenty five dollars for snacks and told him to stay with me in the crowded theater.

And I was enchanted by the whole thing!  I loved everything about Star Wars, The Force Awakens!  The characters, the special effects, the good vs evil, the droids…it was completely engaging.

It had happened again and how wonderful it was. In my youth, my young mind was popped open by the adventure and the fantasy which was the original.  Now in my middle age, my older mind was stripped away of worry and the heavy weight of responsibility for a time anyway.

I have twice now been taken to a galaxy far, far away.  Twice I have been invited to explore and run and fly star fighters and root for good and celebrate victories with the Rebel force.

I won’t forget how it felt so much like the first time.

I won’t forget to celebrate the child who still resides in me.

 

Leave a Reply

